The Good Mother – Cathryn Grant

Thanks to @netgalley for an advanced copy of this book in return for my honest review… Currently reading right now and really enjoying the book – check back here in a few days for my review.

Publication Date – 8th January 2020

Synopsis

Amy’s life is picture perfect. Mess with that picture – you’re going to pay.

Amy’s life is close to perfect – two lovely daughters, a wonderful husband and she’s queen bee in her circle of soccer moms. She feels content, like she’s finally put some distance between herself and the terrible events of long ago.

The only fly in the ointment is Charlotte, a recent arrival to this affluent suburban community. The shameless way she dresses, the way the men look at her… it’s not right, she’s just not the kind of person they want around here.

Amy spearheads a drive to exclude Charlotte, to make it clear to her that she’s not welcome here. Infuriatingly, Charlotte doesn’t seem to care… And when her daughter joins the soccer team there’s just no getting away from her.

But Amy knows from bitter experience the kind of trouble a woman like Charlotte can bring. And there is no way on earth that her girls are ever going to be exposed to anything like that. The solution is clear – Charlotte has to go. No matter what it takes.

The gripping domestic thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty, T. M. Logan, and Sally Hepworth.

The Slayings of Sydenham Review – Alice Castle

Finally I am happy to bring to you my part in the Book Tour for this great book I was gifted from @rachelsrandomresources in return for my honest review.

Synopsis

A dangerous move…

Single mum and super sleuth, Beth Haldane, has been set her most daunting task yet by handsome cop boyfriend Harry York. He wants her to find them a home – outside Dulwich! Beth can hardly bare the idea, so when a young estate agent turns up dead, she diverts her energies to nailing the killer instead.

As it turns out, more or less everyone in Dulwich who has ever moved house may have a motive. But do some of the richest residents have an even stronger reason to murder the agent than others? What on earth was up with Dr Glover, Head of prestigious private school, Watts? Does Beth’s u er-mummy nemisis, belinda Mackenzie, have more reason than usual to be swaggering about the village? And who is sending Beth sinister text messages?

Join Beth for her seventh thrilling adventure amid the main streets of South London, The Slayings of Sydenham!

My Review

I’ve never had the pleasure of reading any of the other books from this author and I understand that this is book 7. Having not known that this was part of a series of books when I first started reading I didn’t feel that I missed any cross overs from the other books, I know that each of the characters in the book are throughout the books but I got to know them enough to really enjoy this book. Its not my normal genre, i’m trying to branch out and read books out of my comfort zone so I was excited to dive into this one.

The book itself grabbed me from the very first chapter and I love books that do this, slow burners are not the one for me but this wasn’t like that. I didn’t even guess who the proprietor was and honestly after working my way through a few Agatha Christies novels in the last few months I thought id guess it no problem. I also really like Beth and her character which helped as sometimes if you don’t connect with the main characters it loses all interest for me.

I liked this book so much I am happy to give it 4.5 stars…

And I think I will also be looking into reading the other 6 instalments in this series.

Below are details of the rest of the blog tour.

Novak Finlay 😊

I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce to my beautiful pooch Novak 💚 he is a cockapoo and 1 years old. He is my life and me and my partner love him with all the love we have. He is the most affectionate and loving dog there ever was and if u know me well on my other pages u will know he is a huge part of my life. He has his own Instagram page if u wud like to follow his adventures.

http://www.instagram.com/weenovak

Eves Christmas – Julie Butterfield

Thank you to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for a copy of this book to review in return for my honest review. This is my first book review with Rachel and I loved it.

‘Working for a department store where Christmas arrives in August, Eve prefers own festivities to be low key with nothing more complicated than an oven ready turkey and frozen peas while she spends the day in here pyjamas. This year unfortunately her husband has invited his best friend to visit, the glamorous and sophisticated Abby, and Eve reluctantly decides she needs to inject a little sparkle into their laid back and slightly shabby Christmas.’

🎄🎅🎁✨😎🤶🎄😍🎅🎉🎁🎄🎅

My review – 5 stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

This was my first festive holiday book of the year and it was fantastic. I read it in a day and just couldn’t put it down, I loved the sound of the description when I was first asked to review it and the cover is a great festive, fun cover.

I absolutely loved all the characters, the kids and even Abby who was ignorant, terribly awful to Eve after her being so accommodating. It reminded of me when I moved into my own first house… I wanted to give everyone a great first Christmas no matter the cost or how much effort it took.

The main thing to take away was that it doesn’t matter how much money u spend, how much effort u go to its just about family and spending time with loved one. The memories 🎄.

Pick this one up if your looking for a festive, warm, feel good Christmas holiday read. I’m already looking forward to reading more from this author xo

Ps I Love You – Cecilia Ahern

I am coming in quite late to the party here when it comes to this book but I wanted to read it in anticipation for Post Script which is in my TBR stack for December….. What can I say?

I knew it was going to pull on my heart strings and make me happy, sad and all sorts of emotions in between but I didn’t think it would pull me in so deeply. I have never watched the film either so went in not really knowing a lot about the plot or story. I was surprised how much I cared for each and every character, even Gerry who wasn’t even real. It made me wonder how life would go on after loosing my partner. I really enjoyed it a lot more than I expected.

5 stars

Cant buy me Love Review

Thanks to @netgalley for gifting me this copy of the book in return for an honest review.. See below for full description and check back in a few days for my thoughts.

It turned out hell was a small town in the Scottish Highlands. Oh, sure, the locals called it Invertary, but Agnes Sinclair knew better—the town even had an old woman everyone called Satan. If that wasn’t a sign she was in hell, she didn’t know what was. All Agnes had ever wanted was to get out of Scotland, and now she was stuck there with no escape. And all because of one teeny, tiny incident (he totally deserved it!) that got her blacklisted in the hotel industry. Now, her only career option is managing a hotel owned by a guy who looks like Disco Santa, in a town where everyone marched to their own damn beat. And, as if being trapped in hell wasn’t bad enough, a spate of thefts at the hotel makes the owner call in a member of Benson Security to help her get to the bottom of them. Agnes doesn’t need help. She especially doesn’t need it from a sexy single father whose every breath tempts her to reevaluate what she wants out of life. A man who makes her wonder if Invertary is where she truly belongs.

2019 update from Barbs xo

Well, well oh my god its December already…. I have been taking a lot of time to look towards my reading challenges and book club reads for 2020 and I anticipate a fun year in the bookstagram community. I only came in half way through the year and made a huge push for my Instagram page, the last two months I have signed up to GoodReads, this Word press blog and Netgalley to name a few. I hope to continue my book reviews and friendships throughout the next year. I want to get more heavily involved in book tours and blitzes as well, read more out of my comfort zone and get to know even more authors and fellow book lovers on my social platforms. Watch this space…… xo

Cover Reveal – Saved by Love

I’m pleased to be involved in this cover reveal for this beautiful book by author Shipla Suraj.

‘They met under impossible circumstances.

She is kidnapped by terrorists blackmailing her father, a supreme court judge. He leads the team sent to rescue her’.

Keep a close eye on my blog for publication date details, where and how to buy etc. Sounds like a great read for 2020.

Ready to Mingle boxset Cover Reveal

Ohhhh…

I’m excited to introduce to my readers the lovely ‘Ready to Mingle’ collection from the lovely Olivia Spring. It includes the first 3 books in the series ‘The Middle Aged Virgin’, ‘Only when it’s Love’ and ‘Losing my Inhabitions’.

This super pretty collection is available to buy from amazon on 22nd November and costs £6.99. U can pre order now or wait to publication day.

I have to say after reading and reviewing the 4th book ‘Love Offline’ I couldn’t wait to read more from this author. Keep an eye out for reviews over the coming weeks of these books as well. Funny, witty and romantic what more could u ask for in a book?

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started